The Gap between Two Thoughts

“Your thoughts are made of electric impulses.  As an idea is about to manifest, electricity in the brain travels down the length of a nerve until it reaches a synapse.  At the synapse, it must jump from one nerve to the next, or the thought you were about to have will evaporate before it can ever form.”

– Deep Nutrition:  Why Your Genes Need Traditional Food by Catherine Shanahan, M.D.

 

“So, are you free on Mar 3?”

She interrupted my refrain about what happened to me and Blue.  I felt betrayed and self-righteous and I wanted her to see me as the pure one, the  benevolent, abused victim.

Somehow, I managed to pause between thoughts.  I sipped my UCC Americano.

“What’s happening on Mar 3?”

Putting down my cup of coffee delicately, I looked into her eyes.

“I am getting married.”

“Where?  What time?”

A smile.  Mama Marife could see through.

 

 

Leave a Reply

